## GOVERNORS STATE UNIVERSITY BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Approved by Committee on 9-17-20

# Governance and Nominations Committee Minutes of the Friday, November 15, 2019 Meeting

### **Call to Order and Roll Call**

The meeting of the Governance and Nominations Committee of the GSU Board of Trustees for Friday, November 15, 2019 was called to order by Vice Chair Kevin Brookins at 9:29am. Roll call was taken. Committee Members Kevin Brookins, Lester Van Moody and Anibal Taboas were in attendance. Committee Member Angela Hickey was absent. Trustees John Brudnak, Jim Kvedaras, and Pedro Cevallos-Candau were also present.

Also in attendance:

Elaine P. Maimon, President

Sarah Boeckman, Interim General Counsel, Burke Burns & Pinelli, Ltd.

Mary Pat Burns, Interim General Counsel, Burke Burns & Pinelli, Ltd.

W. Paul Bylaska, Vice President for Administration and Finance

Elizabeth A. Cada, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

David Golland, Faculty Senate President

Sheryl Jones-Harper, Civil Service Senate President

Joan Johns Maloney, Coordinator of Benefits and Employee Relations, Human Resources

Penny Perdue, Chief of Administrative Operations and Liaison to the Board

Kristiana Russell, Student Senate President

Markita Alexander, Academic and Career Success Guide, CJY

Sandra Alvarado, Director of Human Resource Service/Title IX Coordinator

Catherine Balthazar, Dean, College of Health and Human Services

Zion Banks, Senior Writer, Marketing and Communications

Karen Caesar, Director, Office of Special Events

Mushtaq Choudhary, Director, Auxiliary Services and Housing

Bruce Crooks, IT Technical Associate, ITS

Will Davis, Vice President for Institutional Advancement and CEO of the GSU Foundation

Shannon Dermer, Dean, College of Education

Sondra Estep, President of GSU UPI Chapter 4100

Kristoffer Evangelista, Chief Internal Auditor

Tim Harrington, Chair, College of Education

Olumide Ijose, Chair, College of Business

Rosemary Johnsen, Associate Provost and Associate Vice President of Academic Affairs

Denise Jones, Specialist, Office of Sponsored Programs and Research

Joseph Kearns, IT Technical Associate

Maureen Kelly, Director of Government and Community Relations

Andrae Marak, Dean, Collee of Arts and Sciences

Johnsie McAuley-Davis, Administrative Assistant, College of Health and Human Services

Larry McClellen, University Professor (retired), College of Arts and Sciences

James McGee, Director of Public Safety
Susie Morris, Office Manager, Student Affairs
John Perry, Director, Financial Aid
John Potempa, Associate VP for Facilities Development and Management
Chuck Pustz, AVP for Information Technology
Alexis Sarkisian, Special Projects Manager, University Library
Colleen Sexton, Associate Provost and Associate Vice President of Academic Affairs
Katie Schaefers, Budget Analyst, Budget and Financial Planning
Caren, Schranz, Chair, College of Health and Human Services
Dale Schuit, Professor (retired), College of Health and Human Services
Kevin Smith, Director of Veterans Affairs and Testing Administration
Tracy Sullivan, Assistant Vice President of Procurement
Aurélio Valente, Vice President for Student Affairs & Dean of Students
Barbara Winicki, Associate Professor (retired), College of Arts and Sciences

Jim Zumerchik, Facilities Project Manager, Facilities Development and Management

Sandra Zurawski, Director of Budget and Financial Planning

In addition, the following Faculty Senate Representatives were in attendance: Alli Cipra, Carlos Ferran, Giesela Grumbach, Rashidah Muhammad, Catherine Tymkow, and Chelsea Vanderpool.

## **Election of Committee Chair**

Vice Chair Brookins asked for a motion to elect Kevin Brookins as the Governance and Nominations Committee Chair. Moody motioned. Taboas seconded. The motion was approved by unanimous voice vote.

#### **Public Comment**

There were no public comments.

There being no new business, the meeting adjourned at 9:32am with a motion from Trustee Taboas and a second from Trustee Moody. The motion was approved by unanimous voice vote.

Respectfully submitted, Penny Perdue Recording Secretary